Home > Privacy, Rapid Fire, Social Media > Social Responsibility – Whose Is It?

Social Responsibility – Whose Is It?

PrivacyA recent Twitter back-and-forth with Dan Zarrella and a blog entry by Elizabeth Lupfer in Social Media Today got me thinking about who is responsible for content privacy on social networks?  Facebook has been under heat lately for changes to its privacy settings.  I had a quick conversation with Dan Zarrella on Twitter about Facebook users, content, and what should/should not be posted:

danzarrella: Are there any young people who actually care about this Facebook privacy non-issue?
bdcheung: @danzarrella I’m 25 – does that qualify as “young”? and I care about the Facebook issue.
danzarrella: If you don’t want the whole world to know about it, don’t put it on Facebook in the first place. (via @slavetofashion)
danzarrella: Also, if you’re doing something you really don’t want anyone to know about. Maybe you shouldn’t be doing it?
bdcheung: @danzarrella The issue isn’t that info is being shared. It’s that the default visibility wasn’t chosen by end users.
danzarrella: @bdcheung Again, if you don’t want the world to see it, don’t put it on Facebook.
bdcheung: @danzarrella Facebook wasn’t conceived as a global sharing platform. It was for peer-to-peer comm. I can be social w/out being global.

Call me old-fashioned, but I believe that Facebook was designed to be, and still is, a platform for sharing between friends.  I really don’t buy into Dan’s whole stance that “If you don’t want the world to see it, don’t put it on FB”.  Facebook was never, in my eyes, meant to be a global sharing platform (a la Twitter or Google’s Buzz).  If you’re callous enough to friend your boss, then the consequences of poor common sense–as outlined in Elizabeth Lupfer’s blog entry–are your just rewards.  But Facebook still allows fairly fine control (though not as fine as I would prefer) over individuals’ privacy.  I can still decide what I want the world to see, and what I would like my friends to be able to syndicate.  Am I a bit peeved that the majority of my profile customizations (my favorite books, bands, movies, etc.) are now forcedly associated with Pages?  Yes.  But that’s about my only gripe.  People shouldn’t blame Facebook for their privacy gripes – they should take some personal responsibility and take their lives into their own hands.

Am I just too old fashioned?  Has the Facebook privacy train left the station, and left me behind?

  1. July 30, 2010 at 9:13 pm | #1

    Hi Brian, I feel horrible because only just now did I come across your blog post where you referenced the “Social Media In, Common Sense Out” post that I wrote. I just wanted to say how honored I am that you included me in your Facebook privacy observations. I tend to agree with you… it’s not so much what you share that is the “hot topic” but HOW you share it… and that social platforms such as Facebook should give you every ability to customize your privacy, especially when they will take it upon themselves to share your “general” information for you (for the FB pages they recently deployed). See you in the tweeties! Elizabeth

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

